# BYLAWS OF THE EXECUTIVE POLICY COMMITTEE OF THE METROPOLITAN TRANSPORTATION PLANNING PROCESS

# ARTICLE I MEMBERSHIP

Sec. 1 Voting members of the Executive Policy Committee are provided in the Joint Cooperative Agreement establishing the Metropolitan Planning Organization. The Executive Policy Committee shall consist of ten (10) voting members:

Mayor, City of Rapid City

Mayor, City of Box Elder

Representative, Pennington County Commission

Representative, Pennington County Commission

Representative, Meade County Commission

Representative, Meade County Commission

Representative, Rapid City City Council

Representative, Rapid City Regional Airport

Representative, South Dakota Transportation Commission

Representative, Box Elder City Council

Sec. 2. The voting representatives of the City and the County set forth above may jointly agree to appoint additional voting members to the Executive Policy Committee from representatives of the following:

Local elected officials, officials of agencies that administer or operate major modes or systems of transportation, e.g., transit operators, sponsors of major local airports, maritime ports, rail operators within the Metropolitan Planning Organization area of jurisdiction and appropriate State officials.

Sec. 3. Non-voting members of the Executive Policy Committee for the purpose of transportation planning in the Rapid City Area Metropolitan Planning Organization shall consist of:

SDDOT - Division of Planning and Engineering Federal Highway Administration Representative, Ellsworth Air Force Base

Sec. 4. Voting members of the Executive Policy Committee may also invite non-voting members to serve on the Committee. These non-voting members would serve as resource persons in various planning areas of interest in the Executive Policy Committee.

Sec. 5. Each department or agency having a member on the Committee may also provide for an alternate on the Committee; and, in the event of the absence of a member at any meeting of the Committee, their alternate shall, by representation, have all the rights of the absent member.

# ARTICLE II MEETINGS

- Sec. 1. The Committee shall meet at least six (6) times a year, on a bi-monthly basis, beginning the new calendar year. Regularly scheduled meetings may be rescheduled or canceled by the Chairperson, or in the Chairperson's absence by the Vice Chairperson.
- Sec. 2. Special meetings may be called by the Chairperson, or in their absence the Vice Chairperson, or by two (2) or more voting members of the Committee.
- Sec. 3. Each voting member and all nonvoting members of the Committee shall be notified by regular mail or electronic mail at least seven (7) days in advance of the time and place of regular meetings and 24 hours in advance of special meetings.
- Sec. 4. A majority of the voting members of the Committee shall constitute a quorum for transacting the official business of the Committee. For purposes of quorum members participating via telephone or teleconferencing shall be deemed present and the appearance via telephone or teleconferencing shall be noted in the minutes.
- Sec. 5. All regular and special Committee meetings shall be open to the public and the media
- Sec. 6. Unless otherwise specified, Robert's Rules of Order shall govern the proceedings at meetings of the Executive Policy Committee.

# ARTICLE III OFFICERS

- Sec. 1. The officers of the Committee shall consist of a Chairperson and Vice Chairperson. The Vice Chairperson has the full powers of the Chairperson in their absence.
- Sec. 2. The Chairperson position shall count towards fulfilling a quorum, but will be a non-voting member, unless his/her vote is needed to break a tie vote. The Chairperson shall serve for a period of one year and may be reappointed by a majority vote of the voting members set forth above for an unlimited number of one year terms.

- Sec. 3. The duties of the officers of the Committee shall be those normally associated with the office. Other duties may be assigned the officers at the discretion of the voting members.
- Sec. 4. The Chairperson, subject to approval of the voting members, may appoint special committees as may be deemed necessary for the conduct of the Committee's business.

# ARTICLE IV ELECTION OF OFFICERS AND APPOINTMENTS

- Sec. 1. The Chairperson and Vice Chairperson of the Executive Policy Committee shall be elected annually, during the last regularly scheduled meeting of the calendar year, by the Executive Policy Committee.
- Sec. 2. Nominations for Chairperson and Vice Chairperson shall originate from the floor and a candidate must receive a majority vote of the Committee to be elected.
- Sec. 3. Vacancies in any office shall be filled at the next regular meeting following the vacancy.

# ARTICLE V MINORITY REPORT

Sec. 1. Any voting member of the Committee or political subdivision within the Committee's area-wide planning jurisdiction may attach a Minority Report to any recommendation or action taken by the Committee. It shall be the responsibility of the MPO Staff to see that such Minority Report(s) are attached and that assistance is provided in preparing such a Minority Report(s).

# ARTICLE VI AMENDMENTS

Sec. 1. These Bylaws may be amended or new Bylaws adopted at any regular or special meeting provided notice is given in advance that such business is included on the Committee's agenda. It shall take a majority vote of the Committee membership to amend or adopt these bylaws.

### ARTICLE VII SUBCOMMITTEES

Sec. 1. The Executive Policy Committee may create subcommittees to advise them in the various planning areas the Committee is involved in. The membership of the subcommittees shall be established by and serve at the discretion of the Executive Policy Committee.

Revised this \_\_\_\_\_day of December, 2023.

RAPID CITY AREA METROPOLITAN PLANNING ORGANIZATION	ATTEST:	
Chairperson, Executive Policy Committee	Notary Public Commission Expires:	SEAL
CITY OF RAPID CITY	ATTEST:	
Mayor, Rapid City	City Finance Director, Rapid City	SEAL
CITY OF BOX ELDER	ATTEST:	
Mayor, Box Elder	City Finance Officer, Box Elder	SEAL
PENNINGTON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS	ATTEST:	
Chairperson, Pennington County	County Auditor, Pennington	SEAL
MEADE COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS	ATTEST:	
Chairperson, Meade County	County Auditor, Meade	SEAL
APPROVED AS TO FORM:		
By: Assistant City Attorney		